Let the games begin!

This past Spring Break I drove home to Pa. I also drove up to Connecticut to visit my boyfriend and watch one of his hockey games he had that weekend. Whenever I go to his games I always bring my camera and try to practice taking pictures of a fast moving hockey game. Ever since I got my long lens I’ve been using that so I can really get into the action of the game! I actually found an article that talked a little about hockey and lighting and the technique the photographer used compared to what technique I used. Click here for the web article. The photography in this article used flash which I didn’t. He also gets on ice level but I was up in the stands because I couldn’t get into the penalty box. I also used a fast shutter speed and after going through all the pictures I did take from the game I realized I could have been on a higher shutter speed. The picture pasted below is one of the many pictures I took at his game. The game was at the Freitas Ice Arena on the University of Connecticut campus against Canisius College.

This photo is of UConn #16 Billy Latta fighting for the puck against #27 Logan Roe. Photo was taken on March 3, 2012 by Samantha Nugent.

This photo is of UConn #16 Billy Latta fighting for the puck against #27 Logan Roe. Photo was taken on March 3, 2012 by Samantha Nugent.

Leave a Reply

