Picture Perfect World

Photograph Taken by Samantha Nugent

This is one of my favorite photographs I have taken. I took it this summer in Avalon, New Jersey, the last week of July. I took this photo while I was standing on my friend’s porch across the bay from my Aunt Jeanne’s house. My Aunt Jeanne’s house is in Stone Harbor while my friend’s house is in Avalon.

I would consider this photo a nature shot or snapshot because it’s of nature and the bay but also just a photo I snapped because I was excited to see my aunt’s house from my friend’s second story porch. Unfortunately, there wasn’t much technique while taking this photo. Now looking back at the photo, I love the foreground and background. It gives this photo depth and perspective, which I think is also the strongest element of the image. I also value how the composition and how the two houses and electric power line frame my Aunt’s house.

This picture is pretty significant to me. It was the first time I had visited my friend’s new beach house since they had bought it in May. It was also the first time I had seen my aunt’s bay house in years. I also think it would be valuable to keep for a few years and have it framed for my aunt. She adores her bay house and would absolutely love this picture.

Leave a Reply

